NLNG writing competition 2019, How You Can Benefit

nlng writing competition 2019

Nlng writing competition 2019 has come and gone but it did benefit lots of Nigerians

The adjudication manner for the 2019 version of the Nigeria Prize for Literature backed by means of Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNG), held on the 11th of April 2019, with the handover of entries received, to the Advisory Board of the Prize.

A whole of one hundred and seventy-three (173) entries acquired by means of the NLNG, have been handed over to the Advisory Board which in turn, exceeded over to the panel of judges, at a handing over ceremony in Lagos.

This year’s prize focuses on Children’s Literature. And it’s heartwarming to observe that in spite of the reality that no winner emerged in 2015 when the genre was ultimate up for competition, there’s an enlarge in the variety of entries this year which suggests a 59% make bigger as against the total wide variety of entries acquired in 2015.

The agency additionally received 10 entries for the Literary Criticism Prize.

The Literature prize, which is now in its 15th year, has a money prize of $100, 0 whilst the Literary Criticism Prize has a prize money of N1 million.

While handing over the entries to the Advisory Board, chaired by way of Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, NLNG’s Manager, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs, Andy Odeh, stated “As we supply these 173 books for your vetting, we eagerly seem to be forward to the discovery of yet every other literary gem that will open up possibilities for thousands and thousands of young people now not solely in Nigeria, but all over the Africa.

nlng writing competition 2019

“We can confidently say that the Nigeria Prize for Literature has introduced some in the past unknown Nigerian writers to public attention.

nlng writing competition 2019

Our generation and these after us are becoming acquainted with not just legends like Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe, Gabriel Okara, Elechi Amadi, and Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, Mabel Segun and other writers of longstanding acclaim that, perhaps, some of us had the possibility of reading as children, but also a new cadre of writers like Kaine Agary, Adeleke Adeyemi, Tade Ipadeola, Ikeogu Oke, Soji Cole and others.”

During the handover, Chairman of the Advisory Board, Professor Ayo Banjo recalled it used to be exactly 15 years after the first handover event was held.

He cited that at the begin of this year’s cycle, the board was once a bit jittery over the prize no longer being awarded in 2015 and writers being discouraged to send in their entries.

“When the call for entries was once made, entries trickled in at the establishing however toward the deadline, it picked up and crossed the a hundred mark.”

Professor Banjo said further that the board is hopeful that the numeric strength of the entries will be matched by using energy in quality of the submissions.”

He commended NLNG for having the vision to create the literature prize and the Nigeria Prize for Science, announcing “the prizes have raised the creativity in the country, whether you are writing poetry or trying to remedy the hassle of electrical energy in the country.”

“NLNG has finished its share of work in promotion innovation and creativity in the society.

He Company is contributing to the emergence of authentic thinkers and exceedingly creative people in the society.

It has managed to do that in the house of 15 years.”

nlng writing competition 2019

The entries, which came in response to a call for entries published in the countrywide media in February 2018, will be examined on their deserves of excellence in language, creativity and e book quality.

The entries had been similarly surpassed over to the panel of judges led by way of Professor Obododinma Oha.

Professor Oha is a professor of Cultural Semiotics and Stylistics in the Department of English, University of Ibadan with superb pastime in technological know-how and language.

He currently teaches in the Department of English and Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies, now a unit of the Institute for Peace and Strategic Studies, the place he teaches Disaster Semiotics.

While receiving the entries, Professor Oha stated “we have been saddled with a big accountability and we will discharge our task credibly.”

Other individuals of the panel include Professor Asabe Usman Kabir and Dr. Patrick Okolo. Professor Kabir is a professor of Oral and African Literature at Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto.

Dr. Oloko, a Senior lecturer at the University of Lagos Nigeria, specializes in African postcolonial literature, gender and cultural studies.

The winners of the Literature and Literary Criticism prizes will be introduced at an award ceremony in October 2019, to commemorate the anniversary of the first LNG export from the NLNG’s Plant on October 9, 1999.

Members of the Advisory Board for the Literature Prize, except Professor Banjo, two-time Vice-Chancellor of Nigeria’s premier university, University of Ibadan, are Prof. Jerry Agada, former Minister of State for Education, former President of the Association of Nigerian Authors, and Professor Emeritus Ben Elugbe, former President of the Nigerian Academy of Letters and president of the West-African Linguistic Society (2004-2013).

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has for the reason that 2004 rewarded eminent writers such as Soji Cole (2018, Drama), the Ikeogu Oke (2017, Poetry) with The Heresiad; Abubakar Adam Ibrahim (2016, Prose) with Season of Crimson Blossoms; Sam Ukala (2014; Drama) with Iredi War; Tade Ipadeola (2013; Poetry) with his collection of poems, Sahara Testaments; Chika Unigwe (2012 – prose), with her novel, On Black Sister’s Street; as properly as Adeleke Adeyemi (2011, children’s literature) with his book,

The Missing Clock.

Other previous winners of the prize are Esiaba Irobi (2010, Drama) who clinched the prize posthumously with his book, Cemetery Road; Kaine Agary (2008, Prose) with Yellow; Mabel Segun (co-winner, 2007, Children’s Literature) for her series of quick plays,

Reader’s Theatre; Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner, 2007, Children’s Literature) with her book, My Cousin Sammy; Ahmed Yerima (2006, Drama)

for his classic, Hard Ground; and Gabriel Okara (co-winner, 2005, Poetry), Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto (co-winner, 2005, Poetry).

nlng writing competition 2019

The Nigeria Prize for Literature and The Nigeria Prize for Science are part of Nigeria LNG Limited’s severa contributions towards building a higher Nigeria.

nlng writing competition 2019

Be the first to comment

Best comments win big prizes here, so start commenting now! Something big is on the way